In 2015 the Executive Committee was chaired by the CEO (Guy Hayward) and comprised the CFO (Johannes van Lierop), the Group Human Capital Executive (Jane Bruyns), the Chief Ethics and Compliance Officer (Norman Gray), the Group Financial Services Executive (Gerhard Hayes), the Group Corporate Affairs Executive (Brian Leroni), the five Divisional Chief Executives (Neville Dunn, Doug Jones, Kevin Vyvyan-Day, Llewellyn Walters and Robin Wright), General Counsel (Mike Spivey) and the Group Commercial Executive (Llewellyn Steeneveldt).

The CEO and CFO are the most senior Executive decision-making Executives in the Group. With the help of the Committee they deliberate, take decisions or make recommendations on all matters of strategy and operations. Within the parameters described by the Board-approved Delegation of Authority, the decisions or recommendations are sometimes referred to the Board or its relevant Committee for final approval, while in other cases the power to take decisions is delegated to the CEO and CFO.

The Executive Committee assists the CEO and CFO with specific responsibilities, inter alia:

  • monitoring and measuring the structures, trends and performance of markets and competition;
  • strategic planning;
  • defining, configuring, financing and structuring the Group’s portfolio of assets;
  • shaping and approving the competitive strategies, growth and operating plans and budgets of the Divisions and functional departments;
  • measuring, monitoring and taking proactive corrective action on Divisional performance;
  • ensuring adequate risk management, internal controls, governance, compliance and ethical behaviour throughout the Group; and
    shaping and approving succession plans and senior executive management appointments.